Sorry, Mac users. Zoom 5.0 will be a forced upgrade May 30

For anyone using a pre-April 2020 version of Zoom so that they can still use ManyCam as a virtual camera on their Macs, Zoom just announced today that Zoom 5.0 will be a forced upgrade for anyone wanting to join a meeting that employs the new encryption.

I’m new to both Zoom and ManyCam, so I don’t know if there’s a workaround or planned update that will allow me to use ManyCam with Zoom Webinar. But my current workaround, running a March version of Zoom, won’t work past May.

Here’s the text of their announcement:

Dear Valued Customer,
We are excited to announce that Zoom 5.0 is live, and wanted to take a moment to highlight some critical information regarding this latest release .

When:
On April 27, 2020, Zoom released Zoom 5.0, setting a new standard in video communications security. Beginning May 30th, 2020, Zoom will be enabling **[GCM encryption] across the entire Zoom platform, providing increased protection for meeting data.
Please begin updating all your clients to Zoom 5.0 *** . After May 30, 2020, all Zoom clients on older versions will receive a forced upgrade when trying to join meetings as GCM Encryption will be fully enabled across the Zoom platform.

Best,
Team Zoom

Perhaps we could point out to Zoom that other similar apps (webex, gotomeeting, etc.) that support Virtual Cams. This could be used against them in marketing and hence it would be good for business to also support this. If there is a security issue with Virtual Cams, they might want to explain this to ManyCam developers and see what could be done.

Thought, perhaps ManyCam could support one of the following ideas:

1. Provide a mode where the “preview” is in a window by itself. That would allow us to share the Apps window using Share Screen. This should be easy to support. Perhaps not perfect, but decent.